The BEST and WORST movies – The Morning Thing 2/26/16

The Academy Awards will be handed out on Sunday night.
For our Morning Thing Fave 5, the team decided to share our favorite Oscar winning movies of all time.

Ben-Hur-1959-movie-poster

Wesley Boston – Ben Hur (1959 Best Picture). This is not only my favorite Best Picture Winner, it is my favorite movie of all time. I have watched it again and again and never tire of it.From a film-making standpoint it is incredibly well made: It has amazing cinematography, is brilliantly written, beautifully acted, and well edited. It is an incredibly powerful story that can connect with anyone on some level. It deals with so many human emotions- anger, desire for revenge, the struggle to find in peace and to forgive… It is well worth the watch.

the sound of music movie poster

Marcy Rinehart – The Sound of Music (1965 Best Picture). Julie Andrews is the QUEEN of musicals. This is by far her best performance. The rest of the cast is superb. The story-line is fabulous and intriguing. The music is timeless. This movie was great in 1965 and is still incredible in 2016. I am thrilled that my daughter Rachel loves this movie too. She has a dream to play Liesl on stage.

LOTR-King
Jenna Potts
Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (2004 Best Picture). I loved seeing the characters from the book come alive on screen! The science fiction elements and the action adventure story-line made me love the film as much as the book! The first time I watched LOTR was in junior high with my Dad. We had a marathon of the films which took all evening and most of the night but made the series even more memorable!

annie-hall-movie-poster-1977-1010190935

Aubrey Bailey – My favorite Academy Award-winning movie is Annie Hall (1977 Best Picture). When I was in high school, my friend Karah made me watch this movie. I didn’t really want to, because I had never heard of it, since it was from the 70s. It turned out to be such a cute movie with a slightly sad ending — but I won’t give anything away if you haven’t seen it. Woodie Allen is so funny in this movie, along with Diane Keaton’s strong character of Annie Hall. Now that I am thinking about this movie again, I want to watch it soon.

rocky-movie-poster-1020189537

We all picked Rocky (1976 Best Picture) as our #1 favorite Oscar winning movie of all time. This is a powerful story and an incredibly well made movie. It’s got great characters and memorable moments. Sylvester Stallone did a phenomenal job writing and acting in it. And when you consider his real life rags-to-riches story in making this movie, the film becomes even more powerful and inspiring!

And…now for the worst movies…we found a list of 21 sequels that should NEVER have been made. Click HERE to see the list and tell us if you agree.

Leave a Reply

