Shoeboxes, #ButterCowNameGame and Romance – The Morning Thing 8/6/15

On Thursday, 8/6/15, The Morning Thing shared an update from Operation Christmas Child.

OCC logo

Did you know these facts about Operation Christmas Child?

  • Operation Christmas Child is reaching to the ends of the earth- sharing God’s love to children in over 100 countries- Even in Timbuktu!
  • It’s never too early to begin packing shoeboxes!
  • Right now you can begin taking advantage of the “Back to School” sales and begin stocking up on various school supplies, such as crayons, pencils, and notebooks.
  • Did you realize that a box of crayons in Uganda equates to a week’s worth of wages for many families and that having a pencil can make the difference between receiving an education, or not?
  • The packing of the simplest of gift items can have a powerful impact in the life of a child.
  • Operation Christmas Child is hoping to reach over 11 million children this upcoming season.
  • By the way, if you would like to have your church considered to become a drop-off location for the Operation Christmas Child Project this November, or for more information on how you can become involved in packing shoeboxes, learning more about the discipleship of children, or volunteering on an Area Team, please visit the Samaritan’s Purse website at samaritanspurse.org.
  • OCC is bringing Good News and Great Joy to the children of the world!

We also shared a story about Livia and how a shoebox changed her life.

Livia-and a-Necklace
The friendship necklace in my shoebox transformed my life.

An American mission team was helping to give out the shoebox gifts at our orphanage. Every kid wanted one of them to hold on to, to give them hugs, to talk with them, to look in their eyes and let them feel important.

I became super-glued to a woman named Connie because I wanted the attention and the love that I didn’t get in the orphanage.

I literally didn’t share her with anyone else. I was so defensive of her, protecting her from every other kid because I knew this was my only chance to ever have someone talk to me, to ever have someone hold my hand. I told every kid who tried to get Connie’s attention, “Go away. This is my person. You go find somebody else.”

Then Connie gave me a shoebox gift. Before we opened the boxes, they shared the Gospel with us. It was something brand new to us.

Connie was with me the whole time I looked at my shoebox. At the top of the box, I found hairclips that I loved. Then I saw a bar of soap, a toothbrush and toothpaste, and other hygiene items that meant a lot to me. And then I found a friendship necklace.

I really wanted to thank Connie for the gift and the Gospel. For the first time I knew that there was hope out there and there was a God who loves me every day. I just wanted to tell her thank you for everything.

I picked up the friendship necklace and told Connie, “You keep half of the necklace. I’ll keep the other half. Maybe one day we can put our hearts together.”

As I shared the necklace with her I told her, “I love you.” That’s when God told Connie that she needed to adopt me.

I didn’t just hear the Gospel and learn that there is hope and love and get a bundle of joy that day with the hairclips. God wanted me to have more than that. He wanted me to have a family.

Living in the orphanage, I never allowed myself to dream. There was no way I could ever dream because I’d never get any of the things I wanted to get.

So when I found out that Connie’s family wanted to adopt me I was blown away. It was one of the most unexpected things to happen in my life.

The same year that I received the shoebox gift I accepted Christ. For the next two years while I was waiting for the adoption to be finalized I prayed constantly that God would make a way for me to be able to come to a family that would love me unconditionally.

I got the shoebox when I was 12 and I came to the United States to a brand new family when I was 14. It was something that only God made possible.

My shoebox is something imprinted on my heart that never goes away. It’s an unforgettable moment that I talk about every day. It had an everlasting impact—an eternal impact.

A buttery Brutus Buckeye and national championship trophy join annual favorites the butter cow and calf at the 2015 Ohio State Fair. This year`s theme, sponsored by the American Dairy Association Mideast, honors the Ohio State Buckeyes` 2015 football national championship victory. The display includes two Ohio State football helmets and a life-size replica of head football coach Urban Meyer. Fairgoers can view the butter display at the fair from July 29 to August 9.
A buttery Brutus Buckeye and national championship trophy join annual favorites the butter cow and calf at the 2015 Ohio State Fair. This year`s theme, sponsored by the American Dairy Association Mideast, honors the Ohio State Buckeyes` 2015 football national championship victory. The display includes two Ohio State football helmets and a life-size replica of head football coach Urban Meyer. Fairgoers can view the butter display at the fair from July 29 to August 9.

We also shared details about the #ButterCowNameGame. You can name the Ohio State Fair butter cow and calf. 

Moo-ve over Buckeyes! The Ohio State Fair butter cow Twitter naming contest is back, and two fair favorites are counting on fairgoers to whip up the most creative names.

The annual butter cow and calf are sharing the spotlight with life-size butter replicas of Brutus Buckeye and Ohio State Coach Urban Meyer at the State Fair this year.

Today through Aug. 9, fairgoers can submit names for the butter cow and calf via Twitter using the hashtag, #ButterCowNameGame. The American Dairy Association Mideast will award the winner with a Go Pro HERO LCD Camera on Aug. 10.

The 2014 winning names were, “Scarlett and Grayce,” celebrating Ohio pride. Other submissions played off of Lebron James’ return back to the Cavs, including “LeButter James,” and the “LeBron Cattleiers.” Even President Barack “Moo-bama” made his way to the list.

For updates, follow: @OHDairyFarmers

Hashtag: #ButterCowNameGame

romantic

Did you know that August is National Romance Month? We shared 50 simple ways to be romantic. Try a few of these before the end of the month. *Some of these tips are for married couples only!* 🙂

50 Very Simple Ways to Be Romantic

Leave a Reply

