A Look At WinterJam 2015

In addition to sporting events, coffee shops, and naps, Christian concerts are my favorite place to be. I love being in a high energy atmosphere that is entirely centered on our Creator and in an atmosphere where I am surrounded by people of all ages who are having the time of their life worshipping and enjoying the presence of our Lord. Plus, I LOVE music! So for me, there is not a better way to spend my free time.

This past weekend I was in my element. I had the opportunity to attend Winter Jam 2015, and I can’t begin to describe the amount of joy I experienced at this event. Traveling with close friends to experience the Lord with thousands of brothers and sisters in Christ was unforgettable! As a pastor’s kid who grew up in the youth group, I have been to many, many WinterJams and each year they continue to blow my mind. Each artist and band work hard to share their love of music and God with every person in the audience. No one should leave the stadium without feeling the hand of God at work in the arena.

Unlike most concerts, WinterJam brings ten artists to the stage to share their story with the audience. Artists such as for King and Country, Jeremy Camp, Family Force 5, and Newsong shared their music with thousands. Though each artist had an incredible message, two of them really hit home with me this weekend, and I hope they will encourage you as well.

Francesca Battistelli performed her new song “Write Your Story” reminding me that we are all an open book for God, and He writes our story. As a college student, I am in the midst of confusion and chaos surrounding my future. I do not know what I will do after graduation, how I want to use my major, who I will marry, where I will live, or what I want to do with the rest of my life. These decisions and many more are constantly swarming through my head. Though some would say I still have time to decide, that time is quickly slipping away. Because of this, I am often stressed about the future and apprehensive about the present, but Francesca reminded me that He knows my name, and He has written a story for me, far better than I could imagine.

I’m an empty page

I’m an open book

Write Your story on my heart

Come on and make Your Mark

Author of my hope

Maker of the stars

Let me be Your work of art

Won’t you write Your story on my heart

-Francesca Battistelli’s Write Your Story

The last band to take the stage was Skillet, a Christian Rock band that often travels with secular groups. John Cooper, the lead singer of Skillet, shared his love for God and his desire to spread the gospel in everything he does. Cooper shared with us that managers and band members of secular groups often tell him that Skillet could be one of the most successful rock bands if he would stop talking about God. Cooper’s faith and love for God is more important than material possessions. God has called him to live out his faith and share God’s love above all else. John Cooper often quotes Romans 1:16 “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes.” This hit home for me. I want to live my faith in such a way that people tell me to stop talking about God. I want others to know through my actions and words that I am a Christian, and I love the Lord with all of my heart.

I’m at war with the world cause I

Ain’t never gonna sell my soul

I’ve already made up my mind

No matter what I can’t be bought or sold

When my faith is getting weak

And I feel like giving in

You breathe into me again.

-Skillet’s Awake and Alive

 

As you can tell, my time at WinterJam 2015 was amazing, and I am thankful for the opportunity to experience the love of God with so many others. I hope you have or will know the energy and excitement of thousands of Christians gathering together for one purpose – to know and worship the one true God.

– Jenna Potts

Leave a Reply

