Wonderfully Made

“Wonderfully Made”
by Marcy Rinehart

Why do we spend so much time comparing ourselves to others? I fall into that trap too often. Comparing accomplishments, talents, looks and even initiative can lead us down a dangerous path. How many times do we miss the blessing God has waiting for us, because we are too focused on what someone else is doing?

God has been speaking to me on this topic lately because our family just went through Homecoming season. I have a 16 year old daughter that is truly enjoying her junior year of high school. She is very involved in school and at church, has a great group of friends and does well academically. The days leading up to Homecoming were quite a challenge. My husband and I spent numerous days trying to convince our beautiful daughter that there was nothing wrong with her because she didn’t have a date to the dance. It pained me to see her tears as she cried, “Mom, what is wrong with me? Why am I not as good as those other girls?” As a parent, those are the moments you pray for God’s guidance. Of course, I know that my daughter is fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14). I also know that one date to Homecoming will not make or break the beautiful future God has planned for her life. How could I convince her?

It was then that the sweet, gentle voice of the Holy Spirit spoke to me. Was I listening to my own words? Did I believe that I was precious and loved? Why do I consistently fall into that sinful trap of comparing my job, my looks and my talents to others? Psalm 139 reminds us that we are a work of God and His works are wonderful! Psalm 139 also reminds us that God knows our hearts and is always with us. I have been challenged by verses 23 and 24, “search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting”.

Homecoming 2014 is a good memory. Our house was full of 4 beautiful, single girls that day. My daughter and her friends had a blast as they spent the day doing their nails, makeup and hair. We also had a special time of prayer before a wonderful dinner. One of the fathers presented each girl with a rose and became their chauffer to the dance. My daughter would tell you that this was one of her best memories from high school.

I want to thank Francesca Battistelli for writing a beautiful song that encourages me and reminds me to see myself as God sees me.

“He Knows My Name”
He calls me chosen
Free, forgiven
Wanted, child of the King
His forever
Held and treasured
I am loved
I don’t need my name in lights
I’m famous in my Father’s eyes
Make no mistake
He knows my name

Lord, help us to realize that our true worth is found in YOU. We are beautiful in your sight.
We are fearfully and wonderfully made.

Leave a Reply

