My Rise and Shine Debut: A Blog About Being Thankful

Good Morning!

As a social media junkie I was shocked when I realized I have yet to post to The Morning Thing’s blog and this just won’t do. Since it’s the day before Thanksgiving, I obviously find the topic of thankfulness to be appropriate. (It’s a good thing I have a lot to be thankful for!) I could list off the things that always come up: family, friends, a brand new engagement (to a cute guy, to boot!),  all the wonderful things I’m blessed to have. But today I’m especially thankful for something not usually on that list, WNZR.

When I first arrived at MVNU I really had no interest in radio. Now, as the fall semester of my junior is coming to a close, I realize I don’t know what I would do without WNZR in my life! I’ve come to learn so many things in the classroom and in the studio and even on location that I probably wouldn’t have the chance to learn anywhere else. WNZR is like a second home. A place where I can come to learn, laugh, and be with people I love who are there for me when I need them.

With this in mind I can’t help but look back at the tragedy that began to unfold two weeks ago today. While I watched, waited, and eventually mourned with the rest of Knox County, I realized how thankful I was for WNZR. I was always able to flip on the station when I was commuting from MVNU to my house to hear the latest news, and I had to opportunity to be involved in the reporting first-hand when I attended one of the press conferences held at the sheriff’s office. Not only was WNZR a source of comfort in this terrible event, it was also a source of hope. Everywhere I turned I was bombarded with the terrible news but flipping to 90.9fm I was reminded of the hope we can have in Jesus Christ and the undoubtable power of prayer. It opened my eyes to a whole new appreciation for this radio station and all the good it’s done in my life.

So THANK YOU, WNZR! When it’s time to list what I’m thankful for and count my blessings, I know what will be on my list. I hope you and your family can count your blessings this holiday weekend and remember how much you have to be thankful for.

Happy Thanksgiving,

Kaylee

Leave a Reply

