The first day of class

Tuesday marks the first day of classes here at MVNU, and I’m excited. For as long as I can remember, I have always anticipated the first day of school with excitement. There is just something very traditional about the way I get all of my new notebooks, pens, and pencils out of their packages and into the book bag. Planning the first outfit of the new school year is also just as equally as important. All of these things I do while reflecting on the past three months of summer.

Ah, summer. I love the smells, the sights, and the sounds of the lawn mowers as I’m driving about town. It’s very relaxing to me. September has snuck up on me this year. It just seems as though just yesterday I was taking my last final for spring semester. I’m not sure that I’m ready for the change that fall semester brings. Incorporating school into my crazy life is going to be a challenge, but for the first time since I set my schedule in May, I think it is going to be okay. Slowly, but surely I am coming to grips with the reality that the greatest summer ever is coming to a close.

I was thinking about it earlier today and realized that I have many people to thank for making my summer the most memorable of the short 21 years that I have been on this Earth. First and foremost, I need to thank you, the listener, for your generous support. It was through this support that I could spend my summer getting to know you and becoming a better broadcaster. For me, this isn’t just a summer job that someone hired me to complete. It was the experience of a lifetime. I learned a lot about myself as well as broadcasting. This experience would not have happened without your love and support. I feel as though God has laid it on my heart to tell you this. I know it might seem sometimes like we are consumed with our own lives and not here to serve you, but that isn’t true. If you need anything from us, just let us know. We will try to help you or point you in the right direction. We are here to help support you in your life, and we want to encourage you to have a deeper relationship with Jesus. I’ve realized how fortunate I am to be put in this position as a Morning Thing co-host, and I have you to thank for that. I hope that I can serve you to the best of my abilities for this next school year. Even though it is my last school year at MVNU, I hope that you never forget me, because I won’t forget you.

I hope you have a great day and may God bless you!

Sarah Boston

Leave a Reply

